Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeWelcome to AA!Latest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

What's the best substrate?

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Jane.Dempsey

What's the best substrate? Empty
PostSubject: What's the best substrate?   What's the best substrate? EmptyWed Sep 14, 2011 2:49 am

I'm a newb to the aquatic hobby scene and have an empty 55 gal complete set up with everything but the "fun" stuff like a substrate, decorations, and of course the fish, etc. I'm wanting to go with a South/Central American Cichlid tank. Love cubans, texans, managuense, jack dempsey (of course), frontosa, red terror. And a few randoms like peacock bass and really pretty catfish. I had a vision of doing Cubans (or Texas or maybe black/white convicts) and another really colorful cichlid, black tahitian moon sand, and really light colored wood and rocks. What's the best substrate for these types of fish, and where's the best/cheapest place to get it? I went to The Wet Spot in Portland on Friday and they had Black Tahitian Moon Sand (so pretty and shiny!) for $2/lb. And I'm assuming I would need at least 50 lbs. so that could get spendy. Any suggestions on a substrate or anything?
Back to top Go down
Syklyd
Admin
Syklyd

Title : I am the Walrus.

PostSubject: Re: What's the best substrate?   What's the best substrate? EmptyWed Sep 14, 2011 9:27 am

Tahitian Moon is a favorite of mine. I use it in a tank with Firemouths, Honduran Red Points, and Rainbow cichlids. Their colors really pop. $2 a lb though, is about twice what you'd pay most places. A 20lb bag of it from Petco online, is $17.99 right now, though there may be a hefty shipping charge. Your local Petco or Petsmart probably carries it for about that price though. I haven't seen it much cheaper, as it is an expensive specialty sand wherever you find it.
Back to top Go down
Jane.Dempsey